How do you start a novel?

image

My novel started by decorating a bedroom. I was painting the wall a nice shade of blue and listening to a radio programme where writers were discussing their job. At one point the interviewer asked how much they wrote in a day. One author responded that Joseph Conrad wrote 100 words a day, and that if he himself managed two ‘conrads’ per day he was doing well. “100 words a day?” I thought. “I could do that”

Tha was just over two years ago. Although I haven’t managed to write 100 words every day, I have just about done it on average. Which is why I’m nearly at the end.

 

 

Leave a Reply

