Title Contenders

  
So I finished Chapter 31 on the 31st of December, which seems to bode well. There are now 2 chapters to go, which will be between 5000 and 6000 words in total, so if I stick to my 100 words a day I’ll be finished in a couple of months. I’m hoping I’ll do it sooner, but I start a new job on Monday and I suspect it might get in the way. But then that’ll be it, done, finito.

My only problem is that I haven’t got a name for the book.

You see I was going to call it Second Son, because that’s what it’s all about: the second son has to leave home and join the warrior caste. The only problem is that I searched for it on Amazon (amazoned it?) and there are already several books with that title. Blast!

Actually my first idea was Swordschool, but I just thought that sounded naff.

I like the word ‘naff’ but I’ve just remembered what it means. Apparently it’s gay sailor slang for a man who isn’t gay. It means Not Available For F*****g.

So then I thought I could call it Crooked Strike, which is one of the sword moves they learn in the book, but my daughter went “Meh” when I asked her, which isn’t the reaction I want. Also I think it sounds more like a fishing book or something.

You see a title is very important. It’s got to attract a reader without giving too much away and also suggest something of the genre of the book. My book is a teen fantasy novel, so it’s got to have a title that fits with that but I’m finding it really hard to think of one. It’s a bit like band names, try making one up and they all sound stupid, but as soon as a band becomes successful then the name is part of pop culture and is just accepted. Or if I do think of one I like, I Amazon it and find it already exists.

I think I’m going to have to wait until I’ve finished the book. Hopefully when I read it back, something will occur to me.

Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

