The Weird moments in writing no. 1 – wonderful nonsense

Sometimes technology can very useful, especially if you don’t get a lot of time to write and have to make the most of occasional moments of free time. Today I was sitting in the car waiting for my wife to finish shopping, so I pulled out my iPhone and wrote about 80 words using the notes app. Result!

It was then I noticed the key with the microphone on it. Strange, but I’d never noticed it before. Brilliant, I thought, I can just talk and it will type what I say. I can write my book ‘hands free’! 

Later the opportunity presented itself in the combination of a moment of inspiration and a large pile of washing up. I triumphantly placed my phone on the window sill and confidently spoke the next section of my book while I did the dishes. Here are the results:

No Lucas cancer it’s about five count count to 3 The counting helped stadium watching back to the reality listen to the voice behind in the footsteps following his 57 5859 thought the turning on of the mist funding for 105 and six what is the boys got trapped as well lost in this in this world of water underneath 580 687 that was Lucas counted last few steps and then stophello

I’m not sure how I feel about this. It is the utmost nonsense, and I’ve just realised that this is the first published piece of my novel. This does not bode well for the future!

On the other hand, I actually really like it. It may be nonsense, but it is quite wonderful nonsense. Reading it back triggered all kinds of images in my mind. Of course, growing up in the family of a surrealist painter makes you more open to this kind of thing, but even so I think I’ve stumbled onto a new technique in writing. There is something about generating random associations that liberates the creative process. 

I know this is not a new idea, but has anyone done it using the notes app on their iPhone? 

Perhaps.

Is this a major breakthrough in contemporary writing?

Perhaps not.

Should I read one of my short stories into my iPhone and see what occurs?

 Maybe I will!

Thanks for reading.

1 thought on “The Weird moments in writing no. 1 – wonderful nonsense”

  1. I played with the idea of ‘abstract writing’ a number of years ago. The idea was to write a passage which at first glance looks like normal prose but on reading made no literal sense but the flow of words somehow held together to make the passage ‘readable’. I’m sure this is nothing new but I had some fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

