Truly, Madly, Deeply

  
I’m going to watch Truly, Madly, Deeply again this weekend. I have it somewhere on an old VHS tape, most likely buried at the back of the TV cabinet. I hope it’s as good as I remember it.

I’m not usually the sort of person who is affected by celebrities passing away, which is why I was surprised at my feelings this week. First David Bowie and then Alan Rickman, it has really shaken me. I wouldn’t even call myself a massive Alan Rickman fan, I just thought he was great. In fact he was one of those few actors that would make me want to watch a film just because he was in it. Truly Madly Deeply is the first film I remember seeing him in. 

  
David Bowie is a different matter; he was the sound track of my childhood. I was born in 1968 so I was three when Hunky Dory came out. My sisters were 14, 13 and 11 and I think they took it in turns to idolise Bowie. When Ziggy Stardust came out they bought it for my Dad for Father’s Day, but they played it a lot more than him. Much later, when my sisters left home to go to university, I crept into their empty bedrooms and found those two records, forgotten gold that I delighted in discovering, slipping back to my bedroom with my treasure. I remember it so clearly, lying in the dark, the record player just behind my bed, the scratch of the needle between the tracks, the piano at the start of “Oh you pretty things”.

So goodbye to Alan Rickman and David Bowie.You made the world a richer place, it feels poorer without you.

1 thought on “Truly, Madly, Deeply”

  1. Martin,
    A nice post. I think it is a shame that in life we wait until someone has gone before we really appreciate the impact they had on our lives. Diamond Dogs and Ziggy Stardust were albums that provided the soundtrack to my early teens. I think it had a lot to do with the reaction it got from my parents. Thanks for posting and reigniting some great memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

