Star Wars The force awakens – the verdict (it’s review time again!)


Warning – may contain spoilers (although according to news reports the entire population of the planet has seen the film, so this warning only applies to aliens)

Warning – spoiler alerts may contain sarcasm.

A few weeks ago I posted that I was worried about the new film in case it wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be. It’s now been two weeks since I saw it and I still haven’t made up my mind. As I walked away from the cinema I said that it was way better than the Phantom Menace etc, more exciting and the characters seemed warmer. My kids loved it.

But on reflection, I’m a bit disappointed that the last 45-60 minutes played like a rehash of the end of The Return of the Jedi, which in itself was a rehash of the end of the original film. I mean, I appreciate the need to blow something up, but does it have to be a Death Star every time?

I seem to remember the same criticisms being levelled at Return of the Jedi, along with a general irritation with Ewoks.

But maybe I’m missing the point. You see, I’m 47. Star Wars is (whisper it) a kid’s film. I was a kid when the first one came out, that’s why I loved it.

And my kids were very young when they saw the Phantom Menace, and they loved that.

And I sat in the cinema watching The Force Awakens surrounded by people of all ages but primarily small children, who loved it. In fact these kids probably haven’t seen any of the other films. They have nothing to compare it to, so does it really matter if it plays like a greatest hits album (which are very popular by the way).

It’s a great kids’ film, and that goes for kids of all ages. The little boy sitting in front of me got really excited when he saw this:


The hairs on the back of my neck stood up when I saw this:


Maybe that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

