H is for The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

“The story so far:

In the beginning the Universe was created.

This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.”

I actually don’t remember whether my first experience of hitchhiker’s was the book, the TV show or the radio plays. I do know that I was obsessed with them all. In fact the BBC radio series, illicitly copied onto audio cassette, became my bedtime listening. So much so that I could quote virtually whole episodes.


Douglas Adams was a genius. The Hitchhiker’s books (five in all) are inventive, funny and thought provoking. One of my favourite characters is Marvin the paranoid android, a failed experiment in giving robots ‘genuine people personalities’. Marvin’s vast intelligence is only matched by his ability to be thoroughly miserable in every situation, although in this case he may have good reason:

“Oh look: I appear to be lying at the bottom of a very deep, dark hole. That seems a familiar concept, what does it remind me of? Ahhh. I remember: life. Perhaps if I lie here and ignore it, it’ll go away again. Or then again, perhaps not. To be perfectly frank with myself, if it didn’t go away as a result of me falling fifteen miles through the air and a further mile through solid rock, I’m probably stuck with it for good.”

The Hitchhiker’s books are some of the ones that I read over and over again. They never fail to make me smile and I always seem to find sections that I had forgotten about. Somehow they always seem fresh.

BTW the quote at the top is from The Restaurant at the end of the Universe, the second book in the series.

12 thoughts on “H is for The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”

      1. I haven’t, but I definitely should! I should see if I can get them for my kindle. I have a hardcover of the first, but I don’t want to mess it up by reading it 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love love love this series. Technically I watched the movie first, in high school, but I didn’t really appreciate it until I watched the tv series in college. Then I bought the radio series on cd because I’m a purist, heh, then I read the books. For I while I even wrote fanfiction — the Douglas Adams voice is tricky to master but ultimately hilarious. I’ve read the Dirk Gently books too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If I hand to choose, I might choose the radio series as my favourite. There are some bits that sent in the books that I just love.
      Did you post your fan fiction anywhere? I’d love to read it,

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same. Although the phases that were recorded in the US had crazy dramatic background music, that was a little too loud on headphones.

        Oh gosh, I’m not sure it’s still online anymore.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

