I is for I, Robot


I’ve got a slight feeling of deja vu, as once again I write about a book which is now better known as a film. Let me say now that the Hollywood blockbuster starring Will Smith bears little resemblance to the 1950 book by Isaac Asimov. Which is not to say it’s a bad film. I like it and it includes some of Asimov’s original concepts, the three laws of robotics for example.

The book is actually a collection of short stories, each of which is one episode in the development of robotics. The stories are linked by a framing narrative that takes the form of an interview with a robot psychologist. When I read the book in my early teens I was fascinated by this idea and for a while my answer to the question ” What do you want to be when you grow up?”, would have been “Robot Psychologist”. I don’t remember anyone asking. I’ve never made the connection before, but I wonder if my choice of Psychology to study at university may have been the flowering of a seed planted when I read I, Robot.

Asimov is one of the SF greats. If you haven’t read his work you should read I, Robot and Foundation if nothing else.

 

4 thoughts on “I is for I, Robot”

  1. I read this book in my teens too, together with a few others by Asimove (yeah, inlcuding the first Foundation trilogy). I’ve always love Asimov, even if I’m not really a SF fan. That’s says something about him a sa storyteller, I believe πŸ˜‰

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Jazz Age Jazz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

