K is for The Knife of Never Letting Go


Today is actually a guest post by my daughter who wants to tell you about a book she has just read. She has immediately given it to me and insists I read it so I’m guessing it’s pretty good!

The Knife of Never Letting Go is the first of the sci-fi trilogy Chaos Walking by author Patrick Ness, brought out in 2008. It tells the story of a boy, Todd Hewitt, who awaits the birthday that will make him a man. His home, Prentisstown, is unlike anything other; there are no women, and everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never ending Noise. But then Todd stumbles across a patch of silence, that will change his whole world.

The story is packed with action, and mind-blowing twists. The characters are wonderfully realistic and the book equally well written. My favourite of these characters, along with nearly all of them, is Manchee – the adorably stupid sidekick-dog.

So there you. From what I’ve read so far (278 pages since yesterday!) I would certainly recommend it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s