Q is for Queen of Sorcery

image

I like stories with long journeys. Maybe it’s because I like travelling myself, always wanting to see new places, it’s all part of my insatiable curiosity. Travel is often a component of fantasy novels, think Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, probably because when you want to introduce someone to an entirely new world then having people travel through it is as good a way as any. I also like the maps you find in such stories, full of strange names and strange geographical features.

image

Queen of Sorcery is the second book in the five part fantasy series The Belgariad written by David Eddings and first published in the early eighties. It is a complex story that essentially follows the adventures of Garion, a young boy caught up in something that starts as a quest for a stolen artifice but becomes bigger than he possibly could imagine. This book covers a period of time during which Garion discovers he has the power of sorcery, the ability to concentrate his will and focus it on a single command. The power is known as ‘the will and the word’ which sums it up pretty well.

I’ve read this series at least twice and also the follow up five book series The Mallorean. Eddings has created a colourful and complex world, unified by a creation story, with a pantheon of gods together with their races and religions. The ten books together have a consistent theme about the nature of prophesy and fate and I think that this exploration of big ideas lifts them above your average fantasy series

12 thoughts on “Q is for Queen of Sorcery”

    1. I agree. The maps in books like this are really important and I think it would be interesting to know when the author actually draws it. Is it at the beginning and then uses it to write the story? Or do they write the story first?

      Like

  1. Many years ago, I read the first two book of the Mallorean series. I’ve always thought I would one day read the Belgariad series (everybody tells me that’s the best), but haven’t gotten around it yet. I’ve fallen a bit out with classic fantasy, but that doesn’t mean I don’t like it anymore (I’m just more intrigued with the new evolutions of the genre). I’m sure one day I’ll read it 🙂

    A few weeks ago I read an article arguing that today avoiding the inclusion of maps in books is the best practice, because they are distracting to for the reader (??????????).
    Sounds kind of weird to me.

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Jazz Age Jazz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

