S is for Silverthorn

image

When I was at university, a friend handed me a book and said “This is the best Fantasy book ever”. That book was Magician by Raymond E. Feist. I’m not sure I totally agreed with him that it was the best ever but you could make a strong case. Either way I really enjoyed it.

Silverthorn is the sequel and it is a cracking read. It benefits over Magician by not having to fit in all the world-building necessary in a fantasy series of enormous scope and all the action takes place in a much tighter time frame.

The book deals with a quest to find a cure for a deadly poison that has struck down Anita, wife to be of Prince Arutha, one of the main characters from the first book. There is lots of travelling (which as previously explained is a Good Thing in my mind) first to seek information and then to retrieve the cure from the lands of the enemy. There is also a thread running through the book that links it back to the first and forwards to the final book, A Darkness at Sethanon which concludes the Riftwar Saga.

image

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “S is for Silverthorn”

  1. This is another classic series I haven’t gotten around reading yet. There had been a moment, in the late 1990s when all these books were on my TBR list.
    Ehhhh… things change over times. But I good book is a good book. One day, I’ll get to this 🙂

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Jazz Age Jazz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

