Y is for Yertle the Turtle

image

Ok so I may be pushing the boundaries of the definition of fantasy, but what could be more fantastical than Dr. Seuss? It may seem a strange thing to blog about but, being honest, I was struggling for a Y when I remembered this.

Yertle the turtle is a story in which said turtle, the King of the Pond, attempts to place himself as high as the moon by getting all the other turtles to stand on each other’s backs and then climbing on top. Finally the pressure causes turtle at the bottom to burp causing the whole pile to fall into the mud and Yertle’s reign is ended. It’s basically a morality tale about vanity, and also the dangers of multi-turtle engineering.

When the book was published in 1958 there were concerns that ‘burp’ was far too rude for a children’s book. Despite this, or possibly because of it, the book became a best seller. I loved Dr. Seuss books when I was a kid. Perhaps my weird imagination  and slightly surreal take on life is a result.

image

2 thoughts on “Y is for Yertle the Turtle”

  1. This is one of my favorites! I loved Dr. Seuss as a kid. I like the story about the sneetches too (I probably spelled that wrong). The yellow creatures who fought about the green stars on their bellies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

