The Fleeting Passion

The Secret of Short-Story Writing I’ll give you the sole secret of short-story writing, and here it is: Rule 1. Write stories that please yourself. There is no rule 2. The technical points you can get from Bliss Perry. If you can’t write a story that pleases yourself, you will never please the public.

via Please (Me) | #AdviceToWriters — Mags Loves Jimi

I saw this and thought it was great. It sums it up for me, life is too short to waste it doing things that don’t make you happy.

I don’t really know why I started writing, but I love it. I’ve just finished a short story that I started writing months ago when it was just a description of about 150 words. Then two weeks ago I started thinking about it again and ideas started to flow. Then a brief period of intense writing and I had a 1600 words that I was really happy with. I gave it a week to cool off and then on Monday night I did an edit and sent it off.

I am a slow writer. My target is 100 words a day. In three years I have completed one novel and five short stories. If the  novel was a long drawn out relationship, then a short story is a passionate affair. A sudden obsession that takes over your every waking thought, that your pour your energies into, that is sweet because you know it will not last.

A short story is but a fleeting passion.

1 thought on “The Fleeting Passion”

  1. A thought provoking post Martin. I feel it is the quality of the writing not the speed that matters. My favourite Haiku, by Issa, sums this up.

    O snail
    climb Mount Fuji,
    but slowly, slowly.

    Have a great weekend .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

