Do you want to publish a short story? – Submit now!


yesterday the anthology One Hundred Voices was released by Centum Press which contains my short story “The Third Thing That Made Me Kill Myself”, which I suppose technically makes me a published author.

which feels great to be honest.

then on the same day I got an email from Centum saying they are now pushing ahead with their second anthology, One Hundred Tails, which is the same idea but all the stories have to be about animals in some way. I have already had a story (Anteater, Eagle, Man) accepted for this book, but the email wasn’t about that. Instead it was asking me to invite authors that I know to submit a story to the anthology.

which is why I’m doing this post.

so are you interested? 

limit is 1500 words and it has to be animal themed. Payment is by royalties (10%), but each author gets a discount code and if someone buys the book direct from the Centum website  using your code you get all the royalties, books sold otherwise the money is divided between all the authors. Probably not going to make you rich, but then short stories don’t do they?

if you would are interested then check out the Centum Press website.

http://www.centumpublishing.com
Good Luck

Martin

P.s. If you do submit after reading this, please could you leave a comment to let me know? Thanks

7 thoughts on “Do you want to publish a short story? – Submit now!”

    1. Hi
      I hope it isn’t a scam!
      Before I submitted my story for volume 1, I did as much research as I could and couldn’t find anything bad about the company. They didn’t ask for any money upfront, and all my contact with them seemed legit.
      Yes they do expect authors to promote the book and effectively that is how they make their sales, but they are very upfront about that so that’s not really a con. Plus that seems fairly usual in the grey area of independent/self publishing. The book is also for sale on Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk.

      Having said that I now slightly nervous because the copies I ordered haven’t arrived, although I’ve put that down to arranging cheaper shipping which is of course pretty slow coming from America to the UK.

      Watch this space!

      Like

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole
    thing. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment. It’s nice to know people are enjoying the blog.

      As for advice, I would say, go for regular posting but keep an eye on your stats. Also blog about stuff you are really i terested in. You’re not trying to appeal to everyone, just people who are interested in similar stuff to you. Plus get out there and comment int her people’s blog posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

